Bloomsday Update

Wow, what a first week that was! Within minutes of sharing my plans I already had local breweries asking how they could help. Breweries from outside Toronto are asking how they can contribute. Canadian Beer News and Canadian Running Magazine each wrote about my plans and the social media frenzy was … well… frenetic! I’m so grateful to everyone that shared the message and offered support.

RunTOBeer members got an early start on the fundraising, contributing just over $240.00 at events held at the Amsterdam BrewHouse and Bar Hop BrewCo this weekend. We have five more runs planned between now and June 16th, so the jar is going to be pretty full by the time I lace up on Bloomsday.

A number of questions have also landed in my inbox in the past week, so I thought I would put some answers here.

What is required of the breweries I’m asking to take part?

Almost nothing. All I’m asking of anyone is to put out a jar to take donations on June 16th. I’ll come by in the days following to pick up the cash and turn it over to the Red Cross.

What if breweries want to do more?

I won’t say no! My goal is to make this as easy as possible for breweries to be involved. Anything more — from starting collections earlier to spearheading their own fundraising initiatives — is a bonus for the victims of the wildfires.

What will I do to let people know to which breweries are collecting?

Aside from whatever social media I can provide, I’ve also started populating this map with breweries that have already agreed to help out.

I’m trying to get more media behind this as well. CTV Edmonton reached out to me Monday for an upcoming segment. Draft Magazine (U.S.) is writing about it. I’m pretty sure this is only going to continue to build, especially as more breweries climb on board.

Will I be publishing the totals collected at each brewery?

Nope. I’ll only publish the total.

As much as I want to encourage breweries to aim really high, I don’t want discourage any brewery by turning this into a competition. I think it’s important that the people of Alberta see that Toronto’s independent breweries are united in their concern.

Can other runners join me on the big day?

Sure! Why not? Come for any part of the run you like. Just please don’t give me money on that day. Instead, please leave donations at one of the participating breweries.

Please note I won’t be running on a schedule. The best way to estimate my whereabouts is to follow @BrewScout on Instagram and track my progress that way.

Plans for next year?

More running, more beer. Hopefully no more natural disasters.

Leave a Reply

